February 26, 2020

The Road To Anywhere But Here by Carol Newman


Author: Carol Newman

Narrator: Carol Newman

Length: 6 hours 58 minutes

Publisher: Carol Newman

Released: Oct. 2, 2018

Genre: Memoir


Through story, "The Road to Anywhere but Here" gives a historical account of the 60s Cultural Revolution. From the age of six when the author received a doll for Christmas and her younger brother woke up to a go-cart, she fought the culture that put men in charge and women in the kitchen. At 19-years-old, Welfare poor, college not an option, she looked at a bleak future of either clerical work with no chance for advancement, or a stifling marriage, so she bought a motorcycle and travelled alone from Vancouver, Canada to San Francisco. Summer, 1966, she was homeless. By fall, she was able to rent an apartment in the Mission District near Haight and Ashbury. Her life began when she won a scholarship to join the American Conservatory Theater’s student program. Silver Medalist, 2017 Human Relations Indie Book Awards.



Buy on Audible


The author/narrator is a musician/writer/actress living in Shelton, Washington and Santa Clarita California with her husband and Pitt/Whippet mix, Iggy. She likes to golf, play racquetball and hike.
Website
 Guest Post
By Carol Newman
What prompted children of the 50s to become the revolutionaries of the 60s
When I was in high school in Canada in 1964, girls wore girdles and stiff bras that made sure no flesh jiggled. If we admitted to having sex, even if we were in a long term relationship, we were called sluts and our reputations were ruined. By the time I turned 20, the culture had made a radical shift. The plays “Hair” and “Oh Calcutta” celebrated the human body and promoted a we-are-all-one philosophy that encouraged sexual connections. Many people think Hippies were spoiled children with nothing to do but party and shirk responsibilities, and yes, some kids did hitch a ride on the movement just for the fun of it. But the cultural revolution, starting with the Beat generation, was battling an unjust, hypocritical society. The glorified 50s painted a picture of the gentle, fair, loving patriarch, and the stay-at-home mom who wanted nothing more than to serve her family. In fact, many men were molesting children without consequence, persecuting people different in color or sexual preference, cheating on and sometimes beating their wives. Housewives, forced into a life of drudgery, took valium and sleeping pills to help them through the long, tedious days. The white, all male government was sending our boys to Vietnam. In any culture, people will follow the rules they learn from childhood. These tenets are so ingrained, they become conditioned responses. We used LSD to unchain our psyches from convention. On Acid, we saw the life in front of us unencumbered by what our parents had taught us. When my father was out of work as an auto body repairman, we survived on Welfare. Not all that bad for us kids because my mother made sure we were fed. But I watched Mum’s helpless decline and vowed that would never be me. I bought a motorcycle and left my home town, not knowing or caring about the dangers I would encounter. By age 20, I had only learned how to play baseball and shoot pool. No music lessons, no working skills. I wanted to learn and experience everything -- rush fearlessly into the only life I had been given.



Feb. 23rd: 4 the Love of Audiobooks 2 Girls & A Book

Feb. 24th: Willow Writes and Reads Books, Tea, Healthy Me

Feb. 25th: Eileen Troemel Reading A Page Turner

Feb. 26th: Super Booked! Texan Girl Reviews

Feb. 27th: Nesie's Place Jazzy Book Reviews

Feb. 28th: Audiobook News Blog The Clipped Nightingale

Feb. 29th: T's Stuff AC Squared Book Blog
Plugging you into the audio community since 2016.
Sign up as a tour host here.

Parallel Lies by Georgia Rose

Audiobook Series Tour: The Ross Duology by Georgia Rose

Author: Georgia Rose

Narrator: Henri Merriam

Publisher: Three Shires Publishing

Released: Jan. 23, 2019

Series: The Ross Duology, Book 1

Length: 9 hours 20 minutes

Genre: Romantic Suspense


A woman with a hidden past. A new love on the horizon. Will the truth set her free or cost her everything? Madeleine Ross has meticulously organized her world to leave no trace of her criminal past. After creating a new identity for herself, her only remaining connection to her previous life is the security work she does for a small-town insurance company. But when she starts falling for her handsome boss, Dan, she's worried letting him in will expose secrets best kept locked away.... As their attraction grows stronger, Madeline's attempts to keep Dan in the dark go horribly wrong when a dangerous ex emerges from her unsavory past. After her former flame gives her an offer she can't refuse, she has one choice left: ditch her life as a thief to let Dan in or embrace her shady dealings to destroy her only shot at a happy future.... Parallel Lies is fast-paced romantic suspense. If you like troubled heroines, character-driven action, and powerful emotions, then you'll love Georgia Rose's thrilling novel. Buy Parallel Lies to unlock a secret identity today!


Audiobooks.comAudibleiTunesScribdGoogle




Georgia Rose is a product of rural England and the countryside setting is the theme running through her books. She loves strong characters and finds developing them incredibly satisfying. Instructing and working with horses has provided the knowledge needed for some of her storylines and these can come from a fragment of conversation, via Georgia’s not so surreptitious people watching or most often from her overactive imagination. Georgia’s busy life is set in a tranquil part of rural Cambridgeshire in the UK where she lives with her much neglected husband and dog. She loves afternoon tea, the way the word loquacious rolls off the tongue and she sincerely believes inanimate objects have feelings. She does not care for clowns or kites and can’t understand why adding salt to caramel is seen as a good thing. She also hates every photo ever taken of her…
WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreads

 
Q&A with Author Georgia Rose
  • Tell us about the process of turning your book into an audiobook.
    • I not only produce my own books but those of other authors too and while I was at the launch of a client's book I was chatting to one of the guests who I knew to be an actor and it suddenly occurred to me she might be interested in narrating my books. I asked, she was and we took it from there. She lives in the next village to me and with the huge learning curve, for us both, she has taken the lion’s share and sourced the studio, sound guy and dealt with the mechanics of the whole thing, something I’m tremendously grateful for.
  • Do you believe certain types of writing translate better into audiobook format?
    • I haven't considered that at all actually. I write in first person which I think lends itself particularly well to being read as you can really get into the character. But as there is something inherently lovely about being read to I’m sure all books can be enjoyed in audio.
  • Was a possible audiobook recording something you were conscious of while writing?
    • No, it never crossed my mind. I thought it would be prohibitively expensive so concentrated on the ebook and paperback versions.
  • How closely did you work with your narrator before and during the recording process?
    • I decided to ask Henri to narrate Parallel Lies, rather than my trilogy, as that was a standalone, and I thought if it didn’t work out at least I was only in for one book. At the time I forgot readers were requesting a sequel and I was already trying to come up with the plot for that! So I ended up doing Loving Vengeance too. Henri and I had a couple of meetings to discuss the project and Henri read Parallel Lies first, which she loved, and I gave her a printed out version on A4 paper. She went off to record it then when Loving Vengeance was released we repeated the process.
  • Did you give them any pronunciation tips or special insight into the characters?
    • We discussed a couple of the characters and their accents but otherwise I left Henri alone to do with it what she wanted as she is far more experienced than I. Fortunately I am delighted with the result, although I was tremendously nervous when she first sent it to me!
  • Were there any real life inspirations behind your writing?
    • No. People who know me tell me this or that character reminds them of whoever but they are wrong. I wouldn’t base a character on anyone although obviously all your writing is influenced by your surroundings and people you’ve met in your life in some way.
  • How do you manage to avoid burn-out? What do you do to maintain your enthusiasm for writing?
    • I don’t! And I’ve really struggled for the last few years. However, I am feeling the enthusiasm again and thoroughly enjoying my current project even though it’s the start of a series. If I look at the whole thing it feels completely overwhelming so I don’t, I simply concentrate on putting one word in front of another and we’ll see where it goes from there.
  • Are you an audiobook listener? What about the audiobook format appeals to you?
    • I am not, although on the rare occasion when I have, a long solo road trip for example, I have loved it. I don’t have the opportunity to listen to books at the moment. I work from home and can’t listen when I’m doing that. Then when I walk the dog or drive anywhere it’s generally in silence as I need the quiet in my head to work on the stories I’m trying to write.
  • What gets you out of a writing slump? What about a reading slump?
    • I have never been in a reading slump so that’s not an issue. When I get in a writing slump though I start something new even though I know I shouldn’t. I abandoned a manuscript that is 75% complete at new year as it was getting difficult and delighted in opening up a new blank page instead.
  • In your opinion, what are the pros and cons of writing a stand-alone novel vs. writing a series?
    • A standalone is all round easier to write (until those readers start demanding a sequel!) as the whole story is nicely packed into one book. The downside is that it’s harder to market. Writing a series can become unwieldy and I fear leaving one of those hanging threads behind in my race to the end. However, it is easier to market a series and readers do love being able to read one book after another in one they enjoy.

View the full 14-day tour schedule here!
you into the audio community since 2016.

Sign up as a tour host here.

February 17, 2020

Xpresso Tours : Creeping Beautiful by JA Huss


Creeping Beautiful
J.A. Huss
Publication date: February 19th 2020
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense
McKAY
I wasn’t the one who broke her but I played my part.
She came to us when she was ten. I raised her. I loved her.
I taught her how to survive in a world of evil men.
But it wasn’t enough.
ADAM
I wasn’t the one who saved her but I did my best.
She needed me as much as I needed her.
Bought and paid for on the auction block.
But not for the reasons you think.
She was my weapon.
DONOVAN
I wasn’t the one who lied to her but I hid her truth.
She was broken before I got there.
Wild and angry. Defiant and bratty.
But she trusted me most.
She loved me best.
So I set her free.
Indie Anna Accorsi is a woman lost in her past.
A pretty little nightmare.
A gorgeous piece of misery.
A mess of lovely darkness.
She is creeping beautiful.
And now we want her back.


EXCERPT:

ADAM

By the time that job was over I realized something.
I loved her.
I guess that’s what happens when you get used to something and then someone tries to take it away from you.
Because our trip home from Pensacola was two days later than planned and Indie Anna didn’t smile a single second of that ride.
She didn’t cry, either. But I could tell she wanted to.
And I did exactly what McKay told me to do if things went sideways. I did not yell. Not once. I just said, “It’s fine, Indie. It’s gonna be fine,” in the most soothing voice I could manage as I watched the Company doctor restrain her to the bed and fix her up.
And the game we played on the drive home was a new one called Let’s Pretend That Didn’t Happen.
Knowing what I do now, I probably wouldn’t have played that game with her.
I probably would’ve done a lot of things differently if I had known how good she’d get at pretending shit didn’t happen.
But hindsight can kiss my ass. You can’t change the past.
Indie Anna Accorsi is a beautiful little mess. She is a lovely little bundle of blonde hair and blue-eyed darkness. And even though I should have all kinds of regrets about how she came to be mine and how we came to be hers, I would absolutely do it all again.
Knowing her now, I wouldn’t change a thing.
Because if all those terrible things hadn’t happened, she would belong to him right now. She would be living in that little brick house with Nathan St. James.
She would be whole, and normal, and maybe even happier.
And my heart would be shattered into tiny shards. Millions of bitty pieces.
So yeah.
I’m a selfish piece of shit.
But I want what I want.
That’s the only way I can explain it.
Maybe she didn’t become mine the day of the auction, but the day that asshole triggered her without my permission, she did.
She is.

















JA Huss is the New York Times Bestselling author of 321 and has been on the USA Today Bestseller's list 21 times in the past five years. She writes characters with heart, plots with twists, and perfect endings. 
Her new sexy sci-fi romance and paranormal romance pen name is KC Cross and she writes novels and teleplays collaboratively with actor and screenwriter, Johnathan McClain. 
Her books have sold millions of copies all over the world, the audio version of her semi-autobiographical book, Eighteen, was nominated for a Voice Arts Award and an Audie Award in 2016 and 2017 respectively. Her audiobook, Mr. Perfect, was nominated for a Voice Arts Award in 2017. Her audiobook, Taking Turns, was nominated for an Audie Award in 2018. Five of her book were optioned for a TV series by MGM television in 2018. And her book, Total Exposure, was nominated for a RITA Award in 2019.
She lives on a ranch in Central Colorado with her family. 

GIVEAWAY!

XBTBanner1

February 3, 2020

RockStar Book Tour : What I Want You To See by Catherine Linka


I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE by Catherine Linka Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

About The Book:

Title: WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE
Author: Catherine Linka
Pub. Date: February 4, 2020
Publisher: Freeform
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook
Pages: 384
Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, KindleAudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBD

Winning a scholarship to California’s most prestigious art school seems like a fairy tale ending to Sabine Reye’s awful senior year. After losing both her mother and her home, Sabine longs for a place where she belongs.

But the cutthroat world of visual arts is nothing like what Sabine had imagined. Colin Krell, the renowned faculty member whom she had hoped would mentor her, seems to take merciless delight in tearing down her best work—and warns her that she’ll lose the merit-based award if she doesn’t improve.

Desperate and humiliated, Sabine doesn’t know where to turn. Then she meets Adam, a grad student who understands better than anyone the pressures of art school. He even helps Sabine get insight on Krell by showing her the modern master’s work in progress, a portrait that’s sold for a million dollars sight unseen.

Sabine is enthralled by the portrait; within those swirling, colorful layers of paint is the key to winning her inscrutable teacher’s approval. Krell did advise her to improve her craft by copying a painting she connects with . . . but what would he think of Sabine secretly painting her own version of his masterpiece? And what should she do when she accidentally becomes party to a crime so well -plotted that no one knows about it but her?

Complex and utterly original, What I Want You to See is a gripping tale of deception, attraction, and moral ambiguity.
"Linka delivers intrigue, betrayal, and a feast for art lovers."―Mary McCoy, author of Printz Honor Book I, Claudia

*"Clear-sighted and heartbreakingly true, this is a genuine portrait of a girl in quiet crisis learning to see things as they are."―Booklist (starred review)

"Tense, smart, and engaging . . . What I Want You to See is a stunning portrait of deception, artfully peeling back layers of secrets to reveal a meticulously crafted crime."
Elle Cosimano, award-winning author of Nearly Gone

"A messy, heartbreaking and very real journey of learning to let others see who you truly are."―Carrie Arcos, author of the National Book Award Finalist Out of Reach

"A stunning page-turner that will tear your heart and paste it back together."
Kim Purcell, author of This is Not A Love Letter and Trafficked

EXCERPT

Then, just when I think it can’t get any worse, Krell stands and begins to circle the room. “Questioning. Provoking. Agitating. CALINVA’s mission is carved into its very walls.”

I know that what comes out of his mouth next will eviscerate me, and I grip the easel as the blood drains from my head.

“This piece, this pretty little craft project is insignificant and utterly forgettable. ART should never be insignificant. It should never be forgettable!”

At last, Krell stops and looks from me to the rest of the class, and I brace myself for him to make an example of me.

“Ms. Reyes,” he says, “until you risk failure, until you face the fear that there’s nothing uniquely creative floating in the inter-cranial recesses of your mind, until you express your ideas in a way that is not literal, but entirely unexpected so our experience of art is altered—until then, your paintings will be a waste of paint and canvas.”

I can’t feel the floor beneath my feet. I lift my painting off the easel, and say, “Thank you, Professor Krell,” in a voice so strained it’s hoarse.


I take my seat. It’s my own fault, I think, shoving the canvas into my portfolio case. But obviously Krell enjoyed humiliating me.

About Catherine:

Catherine Linka has been immersed in books her whole life, most recently as a writer and bookseller. She’s the author of the young adult novel WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE as well as the dystopian duology A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS and A GIRL UNDONE. Catherine lives in Southern California and watches hawks and hummingbirds when she should be writing. 









Giveaway Details:

3 winners will win a signed finished copy of WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE, US Only.


Tour Schedule:

Week One:
2/3/2020
Excerpt
2/4/2020
Review
2/5/2020
Excerpt
2/6/2020
Review
2/7/2020
Review

Week Two:
2/10/2020
Review
2/11/2020
Excerpt
2/12/2020
Review
2/13/2020
Review
2/14/2020
Review

Week Three:
2/17/2020
Review
2/18/2020
Review
2/19/2020
Review
2/20/2020
Review
2/21/2020
Review

Week Four:
2/24/2020
Review
2/25/2020
Review
2/26/2020
Review
2/27/2020
Review
2/28/2020
Review